17 Jan 2015

2015 FIFA Women's World Cup finals: Canada

The 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup finals will be held in Canada, with the number of qualifiers increased from 16 to 24, including eight from Europe.
Games will be played from 6 June to 5 July 2015, with games in Edmonton, Moncton, Montreal, Ottowa and Vancouver. The draw will be on 6 December 2014 in Ottowa. More details can be seen onFIFA's official website. The tournament will decide Europe's three representatives in the 2016 Olympic Games women's football competition in Brazil.
Qualified teams
AFC (5): Australia, China, Japan (holders), South Korea, Thailand*
CAF (3): Cameroon,*, Ivory Coast*, Nigeria
CONCACAF (4): Canada (hosts), Costa Rica*, Mexico, United States
CONMEBOL (2): Brazil, Colombia
CONMBEOL-CONCACAF play-off (1): Ecuador*
OFC (1): New Zealand
UEFA (8): England, France, Germany, Netherlands*, Norway, Spain*, Sweden, Switzerland*
*First qualification
Past World Cup finals (European teams in bold)
2011: Japan 2-2 United States (aet, 3-1 pens); Frankfurt, Germany
2007: Germany 2-0 Brazil; Shanghai, China
2003: Germany 1-0 Sweden (aet, golden goal); Carson, United States
1999: United States 0-0 China (aet, 5-4 pens); Pasadena, United States
1995: Norway 2-0 Germany; Stockholm, Sweden
1991: United States 2-1 Norway; Guangzhou, China
Past Olympic medallists (European teams in bold)
2012: United States (gold), Japan (silver), Canada (bronze); London, United Kingdom
2008: United States (gold), Brazil (silver), Germany (bronze); Beijing, China
2004: United States (gold), Brazil (silver), Germany (bronze); Athens, Greece
2000: Norway (gold), United States (silver), Germany (bronze); Sydney, Australia
1996: United States (gold), China (silver), Norway (bronze); Atlanta, United States


Post a Comment